Skip to Content

Quantitative Biology and Bioinformatics

Big data in plant biology.

Magdy Alabady

Magdy Alabady

Associate Research Scientist, Director Georgia Genomics & Bioinformatics Core
Plant Biology; Georgia Genomics Facility
Website | ResearchGate
malabady@uga.edu
functional genomics, epigenetics, small RNA

Jeff Bennetzen

Jeff Bennetzen

Norman and Doris Giles Professor, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar,
National Academy of Sciences Member
Genetics; Plant Biology; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar
maize@uga.edu
cereal comparative genomics, genome structure and evolution

Douda Bensasson

Douda Bensasson

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar
dbensasson@uga.edu
fungal domestication, bioinformatics, population genetics, evolution

Alexander Bucksch

Alex Bucksch

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology; Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Twitter
bucksch@uga.edu
computational plant science, phenomics, plant roots, plant imaging and simulation

John Burke

John Burke

Distinguished Research Professor; Department Head, Plant Biology
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
jmburke@uga.edu
plant evolutionary genetics

Katrien Devos

Katrien Devos

Distinguished Research Professor
Plant Biology; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | ResearchGate
kdevos@uga.edu
comparative genomics in cereals

Brad Nelms

Brad Nelms

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
nelms@uga.edu
plant reproduction, genomics and gene regulatory networks, single-cell RNA-sequencing, reprogramming cell fate

Andrew Paterson

Andrew Paterson

Regents Professor; Plant Genome Mapping Laboratory
Genetics; Institute of Bioinformatics; Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
paterson@uga.edu
plant genetics, genomics, evolution, crop improvement, domestication

Bob Schmitz

Bob Schmitz

Associate Professor
Genetics; Plant Biology; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Twitter
schmitz@uga.edu
epigenetics, epigenomics

CJ Tsai

Cj Tsai

Winfred N. Haynes Professor and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Plant Biology; Genetics; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Lab Facebook
cjtsai@uga.edu
phenylpropanoid metabolism, stress response, wood formation, gene family evolution, gene-metabolite networks

Justin Vaughn

Justin Vaughn

Adjunct Faculty
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar
justin.vaughn@ars.usda.gov
gene discovery, population genomics characterization and visualization, simulation of genetic systems

Jason Wallace

Jason Wallace

Associate Professor
Institute of Bioinformatics, Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ORCiD | Google Scholar
jason.wallace@uga.edu
quantitative genetics and genomics of crops and their microbiomes

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602
706‑542‑3000