Skip to Content

Faculty A to Z

Magdy Alabady
Magdy Alabady

Associate Research Scientist, Director Georgia Genomics & Bioinformatics Core
Plant Biology; Georgia Genomics Facility
Website | ResearchGate
malabady@uga.edu
functional genomics, epigenetics, small RNA

Jill Anderson
Jill Anderson

Assistant Professor
Genetics; Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
jta24@uga.edu
global change, ecophysiology, natural selection, evolutionary genetics, local adaptation

Jonathan Arnold

Professor
Genetics
Website | Google ScholarResearchGate
arnold@uga.edu
systems biology, symbiosis of fungi and plants, arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi, biological clocks

Doug P. Aubrey
Doug Aubrey

Assistant Professor, Plant Biology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources, Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
Website
daubrey@uga.edu
Tree ecophysiology, forest biogeochemistry, fire ecology, sustainability of bioenergy production

Sudeep Bag
Sudeep Bag

Assistant Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
sudeepbag@uga.edu
plant virology: detection, disease epidemiology, genomics, small RNA, virus-host interaction, and virus disease management

Bochra Bahri
Bochra Bahri

Assistant Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Pathology
Website | Google ScholarResearch Gate
bbahri@uga.edu
pathogen population structure, pathogen adaptation to hosts and to climate change, plant-pathogen interactions, resistance gene and virulence factor identification, turfgrass and forage disease management

Maor Bar-Peled
Maor Bar-Peled

Professor
Plant Biology; Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Website
peled@uga.edu
complex carbohydrates synthesis and regulation, biochemistry and molecular biology

Jessica Barb
Jessica Barb

Assistant Research Scientist
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Biology
Google Scholar
jessica.barb@uga.edu
small grains breeding and genetics

Jeff Bennetzen
Jeff Bennetzen

Norman and Doris Giles Professor, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar,
National Academy of Sciences Member
Genetics; Plant Biology; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar
maize@uga.edu
cereal comparative genomics, genome structure and evolution

Douda Bensasson
Douda Bensasson

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar
dbensasson@uga.edu
fungal domestication, bioinformatics, population genetics, evolution

David Bertioli
David Bertioli

Professor, Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Investigator
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar
bertioli@uga.edu
peanut genetics and improvement using wild species 

Marin Brewer
Marin Brewer

Associate Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
mtbrewer@uga.edu
plant-pathogenic fungi, population genomics, mating systems, host specialization

Alexander Bucksch
Alex Bucksch

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology; Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Twitter
bucksch@uga.edu
computational plant science, phenomics, plant roots, plant imaging and simulation

Robin Buell
Robin Buell photograph

GRA Eminent Scholar Chair in Crop Genomics
Joining UGA August 2021
Crop & Soil Sciences; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
Robin.Buell@uga.edu
plant genome biology, genome-enabled breeding, plant resilience, genome editing, synthetic biology

John Burke
John Burke

Distinguished Research Professor; Department Head, Plant Biology
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
jmburke@uga.edu
plant evolutionary genetics

Shu-Mei Chang
Shu-Mei Chang

Professor
Plant Biology
Website | ResearchGate
smchang@uga.edu
evolution and ecology of plant reproduction and mating systems

Dario Chavez
Dario Chavez

Assistant Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | UGA Peach Blog | ResearchGate
dchavez@uga.edu
peach breeding, genetics and production

Peng W. Chee
Peng Chee

Professor
Molecular Cotton Breeding Laboratory; National Environmentally Sound Production Agriculture Laboratory;
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
pwchee@uga.edu
molecular breeding of cotton

Anny Chung
Anny Chung

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
yyachung@uga.edu
plant-microbe interactions, competition and coexistence, population and community ecology, global change

Josh Clevenger

Adjunct Faculty
Crop & Soil Sciences; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
 Google Scholar | ResearchGate
jclev@uga.edu
peanut genetic improvement, polyploid genomics

Joann Conner
Joann Conner

Assistant Research Scientist
Horticulture; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
jconner@uga.edu
apospory, angiosperm asexual reproduction

Jennifer Cruse-Sanders
Jennifer Cruse-Sanders

Director, State Botanical Garden of Georgia
Plant Biology
crusesanders@uga.edu

Kelly Dawe
Kelly Dawe

Distinguished Research Professor
Plant Biology; Genetics
Website | Google Scholar
kdawe@uga.edu
centromeres, cytogenetics

Michael Deom
Michael Deom

Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
deom@uga.edu
virus-host interactions, biotic and abiotic stress in groundnut varieties

Katrien Devos
Katrien Devos

Distinguished Research Professor
Plant Biology; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | ResearchGate
kdevos@uga.edu
comparative genomics in cereals

Lisa Donovan
Lisa Donovan

Distinguished Research Professor
Plant Biology
Website | ResearchGate | Focus on Faculty
ldonovan@uga.edu
plant evolutionary ecophysiology, stress physiology, resource allocation

Michael G. Hahn
Michael Hahn

Professor
Plant Biology; Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
hahn@ccrc.uga.edu
study of plant cell wall polysaccharides using monoclonal antibodies

Dan Johnson
Dan Johnson

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Website | Google Scholar
danjohnson@uga.edu
tree ecophysiology, water use, drought

Chang Hyun Khang
Chang Hyun Khang

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
Website | ResearchGate
ckhang@uga.edu
plant-fungal interactions, rice, blast fungus

Brian Kvitko
Brian Kvitko

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
bkvitko@uga.edu
mechanisms of plant immune action against bacteria, molecular phytobacteriology

Soraya Leal-Bertioli
Sorya Bertioli

Senior Research Scientist
Plant Pathology; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ResearchGate
sorayab@uga.edu
peanut, wild arachis, introgression, tetraploidization, disease resistance

Jim Leebens-Mack
Jim Leebens-Mack

Distinguished Research Professor; Director, UGA Plant Center
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
jleebensmack@uga.edu
genomic, phylogenetic and experimental analyses

Zachary Lewis
Zachary Lewis

Associate Professor
Plant Biology; Microbiology
Website | Google Scholar
zlewis@uga.edu
fungal genetics, chromatin structure and function, epigenetics, gene regulation

Zenglu Li
Zenglu Li

Professor
Georgia Seed Development Professorship in Soybean Breeding and Genetics
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
zli@uga.edu
soybean breeding, genetics and genomics

Xiaorong Lin
Xiaorong Lin

ProfessorPlant Biology; Microbiology
Website | Google Scholar
Xiaorong.Lin@uga.edu
fungal genetics, human fungal pathogens, sexual reproduction, dimorphism, pathogenesis, protein trafficking

Wolfgang Lukowitz
Wolfgang Lukowitz

Associate Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
lukowitz@uga.edu
plant development and cell biology

Anish Malladi
Anish Malladi

Associate Professor
Horticulture
Website | ResearchGate
malladi@uga.edu
fruit growth and developmental physiology

Rodney Mauricio
Rodney Mauricio

Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor
Genetics
Website
mauricio@uga.edu
conservation genetics, invasive species, ecological genetics, evolutionary ecology, plant-animal interactions, evolutionary quantitative genetics, adaptation

Cecilia McGregor
Cecilia McGregor

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar
cmcgre1@uga.edu
vegetables, breeding, genetics, genomics, marker-assisted selection, QTL

Mohamed Mergoum
Mohamed Mergoum

Georgia Seed Development UGAF Professorship in Wheat Breeding and Genetics
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
mmergoum@uga.edu
small grain breeding, genetics and genomics

Ali Missaoui
Ali Missaoui

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ResearchGate
cssamm@uga.edu
bioenergy, forages, breeding, genomics

Melissa Mitchum
Melissa Mitchum

Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar
melissa.mitchum@uga.edu
molecular plant-nematode interactions, effectors, peptide signaling, host plant resistance, soybean genetics and genomics

Jacqueline Mohan
Jacqueline Mohan

Associate Professor, School of Ecology
Plant Biology
Website | Google ScholarResearchGate
jmohan@uga.edu
ecosystem ecology, population and community ecology, biogeochemistry, global change, climate change, conservation biology, geographic genetic variation, species range shifts

Debra Mohnen
Deborah Mohnen

Georgia Athletics Association Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Plant Biology; Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Website | ResearchGate
dmohnen@uga.edu
biosynthesis of plant cell wall polysaccharides

Michelle Momany
Michelle Momany

Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Twitter
mmomany@uga.edu
fungal genetics, cytoskeleton, polar growth

Savithri Nambeesan
Savithri Nambeesan

Assistant Research Scientist
Horticulture
Website
sunamb@uga.edu
ripening and postharvest physiology

Brad Nelms
Brad Nelms

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
nelms@uga.edu
plant reproduction, genomics and gene regulatory networks, single-cell RNA-sequencing, reprogramming cell fate

Peggy Ozias-Akins
Peggy Ozias-Akins

D.W. Brooks Professorship, UGA Distinguished Research Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Horticulture
Website | ResearchGate
pozias@uga.edu
developmental biology and molecular mechanisms of apomixis, genetic enhancement of peanut and grasses

Wayne Parrott
Wayne Parrott

Distinguished Research Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Lab Facebook | Twitter
wparrott@uga.edu
gene editing and transgenic breeding of legumes and grasses

Andrew Paterson
Andrew Paterson

Regents Professor; Plant Genome Mapping Laboratory
Genetics; Institute of Bioinformatics; Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
paterson@uga.edu
plant genetics, genomics, evolution, crop improvement, domestication

Chris Peterson
Chris Peterson

Professor
Plant Biology
Website
cjpete@uga.edu
carbon cycling, forest recovery, landscape patterns

Megan DeMarche
Megan Peterson

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
megan.peterson@colorado.edu
population dynamics, evolutionary ecology, responses to climate change

Paul Raymer
Paul Raymer

Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
praymer@uga.edu
turfgrass breeding and genetics

Bob Schmitz
Bob Schmitz

Associate Professor
Genetics; Plant Biology; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Twitter
schmitz@uga.edu
epigenetics, epigenomics

Brian Schwartz
Brian Schwartz

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
tifturf@uga.edu
turfgrass breeding

Shavannor Smith
Shavannor Smith

Associate Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
shavs@uga.edu
plant-pathogen interactions, structure and evolution of disease resistance loci

Andrea Sweigart
Andrea Sweigart

Associate Professor
Genetics; Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar
sweigart@uga.edu
evolutionary genetics, speciation

Dorset Trapnell
Dorset Trapnell

Associate Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate 
dorset@uga.edu
ecology, landscape disturbances, phylogeography

CJ Tsai
Cj Tsai

Winfred N. Haynes Professor and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Plant Biology; Genetics; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Lab Facebook
cjtsai@uga.edu
phenylpropanoid metabolism, stress response, wood formation, gene family evolution, gene-metabolite networks

Breeanna Urbanowicz
Breeanna Urbanowicz

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Website | LinkedIn | Google Scholar
breeanna@uga.edu
structure and function of plant carbohydrate active enzymes

Esther van der Knaap
Esther van der Knaap

Professor
Horticulture; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Biology; Genetics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
vanderkn@uga.edu
tomato developmental genetics, genomics, molecular biology

Marc van Iersel
Marc van Iersel

Vincent J. Dooley Professorship in Horticulture
Horticulture
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
mvanier@uga.edu
physiology, drought, photosynthesis

Justin Vaughn
Justin Vaughn

Adjunct Faculty
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar
justin.vaughn@ars.usda.gov
gene discovery, population genomics characterization and visualization, simulation of genetic systems

Caterina Villari

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
cvillari@uga.edu
fungal pathogens, resistance mechanisms of trees, chemical ecology, insect-fungi symbioses

Jason Wallace
Jason Wallace

Associate Professor
Institute of Bioinformatics, Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ORCiD | Google Scholar
jason.wallace@uga.edu
quantitative genetics and genomics of crops and their microbiomes

Dayton Wilde
Dayton Wilde

Professor
Horticulture; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ResearchGate
dwilde@uga.edu
molecular genetics of ornamental plants

Nina Wurzburger
Nina Wurzburger

Associate Professor
Plant Biology
Website | Google Scholar | Focus on Faculty
ninawurz@uga.edu
ecosystem biogeochemistry, plant-microbial symbioses, disturbance ecology 

Li Yang
Li Yang

Assistant Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar
Li.Yang1@uga.edu

molecular genetics of plant immunity and development

Zheng-Hua Ye
Zheng-Hua Ye

Professor
Plant Biology
Website
yh@uga.edu
molecular genetics and biochemistry of secondary cell wall biosynthesis

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602
706‑542‑3000