Skip to Content

Biotechnology, Breeding and Crop Improvement

Developing plant varieties for the future.

David Bertioli

David Bertioli

Professor, Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Investigator
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar
bertioli@uga.edu
peanut genetics and improvement using wild species 

Dario Chavez

Dario Chavez

Assistant Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | UGA Peach Blog | ResearchGate
dchavez@uga.edu
peach breeding, genetics and production

Peng W. Chee

Peng Chee

Professor
Molecular Cotton Breeding Laboratory; National Environmentally Sound Production Agriculture Laboratory;
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
pwchee@uga.edu
molecular breeding of cotton

Josh Clevenger

Adjunct Faculty
Crop & Soil Sciences; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
 Google Scholar | ResearchGate
jclev@uga.edu
peanut genetic improvement, polyploid genomics

Michael Deom

Michael Deom

Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
deom@uga.edu
virus-host interactions, biotic and abiotic stress in groundnut varieties

Katrien Devos

Katrien Devos

Distinguished Research Professor
Plant Biology; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | ResearchGate
kdevos@uga.edu
comparative genomics in cereals

Zenglu Li

Zenglu Li

Professor
Georgia Seed Development Professorship in Soybean Breeding and Genetics
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
zli@uga.edu
soybean breeding, genetics and genomics

Cecilia McGregor

Cecilia McGregor

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar
cmcgre1@uga.edu
vegetables, breeding, genetics, genomics, marker-assisted selection, QTL

Mohamed Mergoum

Mohamed Mergoum

Georgia Seed Development UGAF Professorship in Wheat Breeding and Genetics
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
mmergoum@uga.edu
small grain breeding, genetics and genomics

Ali Missaoui

Ali Missaoui

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ResearchGate
cssamm@uga.edu
bioenergy, forages, breeding, genomics

Peggy Ozias-Akins

Peggy Ozias-Akins

D.W. Brooks Professorship, UGA Distinguished Research Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Horticulture
Website | ResearchGate
pozias@uga.edu
developmental biology and molecular mechanisms of apomixis, genetic enhancement of peanut and grasses

Paul Raymer

Paul Raymer

Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
praymer@uga.edu
turfgrass breeding and genetics

Brian Schwartz

Brian Schwartz

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
tifturf@uga.edu
turfgrass breeding

Justin Vaughn

Justin Vaughn

Adjunct Faculty
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar
justin.vaughn@ars.usda.gov
gene discovery, population genomics characterization and visualization, simulation of genetic systems

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602
706‑542‑3000