Skip to Content

Plant Interactions and Response to Their Environment

Doug P. Aubrey

Doug Aubrey

Assistant Professor, Plant Biology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources, Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
Website
daubrey@uga.edu
Tree ecophysiology, forest biogeochemistry, fire ecology, sustainability of bioenergy production

Sudeep Bag

Sudeep Bag

Assistant Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
sudeepbag@uga.edu
plant virology: detection, disease epidemiology, genomics, small RNA, virus-host interaction, and virus disease management

Marin Brewer

Marin Brewer

Associate Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
mtbrewer@uga.edu
plant-pathogenic fungi, population genomics, mating systems, host specialization

Anny Chung

Anny Chung

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
yyachung@uga.edu
plant-microbe interactions, competition and coexistence, population and community ecology, global change

Michael Deom

Michael Deom

Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
deom@uga.edu
virus-host interactions, biotic and abiotic stress in groundnut varieties

Lisa Donovan

Lisa Donovan

Distinguished Research Professor
Plant Biology
Website | ResearchGate | Focus on Faculty
ldonovan@uga.edu
plant evolutionary ecophysiology, stress physiology, resource allocation

Dan Johnson

Dan Johnson

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Website | Google Scholar
danjohnson@uga.edu
tree ecophysiology, water use, drought

Brian Kvitko

Brian Kvitko

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
bkvitko@uga.edu
mechanisms of plant immune action against bacteria, molecular phytobacteriology

Soraya Leal-Bertioli

Sorya Bertioli

Senior Research Scientist
Plant Pathology; Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ResearchGate
sorayab@uga.edu
peanut, wild arachis, introgression, tetraploidization, disease resistance

Zenglu Li

Zenglu Li

Professor
Georgia Seed Development Professorship in Soybean Breeding and Genetics
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website
zli@uga.edu
soybean breeding, genetics and genomics

Cecilia McGregor

Cecilia McGregor

Associate Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar
cmcgre1@uga.edu
vegetables, breeding, genetics, genomics, marker-assisted selection, QTL

Melissa Mitchum

Melissa Mitchum

Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics; Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar
melissa.mitchum@uga.edu
molecular plant-nematode interactions, effectors, peptide signaling, host plant resistance, soybean genetics and genomics

Wayne Parrott

Wayne Parrott

Distinguished Research Professor
Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Lab Facebook | Twitter
wparrott@uga.edu
gene editing and transgenic breeding of legumes and grasses

Shavannor Smith

Shavannor Smith

Associate Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | ResearchGate
shavs@uga.edu
plant-pathogen interactions, structure and evolution of disease resistance loci

CJ Tsai

Cj Tsai

Winfred N. Haynes Professor and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Plant Biology; Genetics; Institute of Bioinformatics
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate | Lab Facebook
cjtsai@uga.edu
phenylpropanoid metabolism, stress response, wood formation, gene family evolution, gene-metabolite networks

Breeanna Urbanowicz

Breeanna Urbanowicz

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
Website | LinkedIn | Google Scholar
breeanna@uga.edu
structure and function of plant carbohydrate active enzymes

Caterina Villari

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Website | Google Scholar | ResearchGate
cvillari@uga.edu
fungal pathogens, resistance mechanisms of trees, chemical ecology, insect-fungi symbioses

Jason Wallace

Jason Wallace

Associate Professor
Institute of Bioinformatics, Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Website | ORCiD | Google Scholar
jason.wallace@uga.edu
quantitative genetics and genomics of crops and their microbiomes

Li Yang

Li Yang

Assistant Professor
Plant Pathology
Website | Google Scholar
Li.Yang1@uga.edu

molecular genetics of plant immunity and development

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602
706‑542‑3000